Which States Will Receive a Stimulus Check Next?


The federal government is unlikely to issue another stimulus package. However, a handful of states have approved a fourth stimulus check for their residents due to the effects of high inflation. More states in the country may follow suit in the coming months. Let’s look at which states are receiving a fourth stimulus check and how much residents might get.

States that are issuing stimulus payments

  • California: California will make payments of up to $700 to joint-filing couples who earn less than $150,000 per year, while individuals will qualify for up to $350. People with dependents are eligible for an extra $350.
  • Colorado: Individuals in the Rocky Mountain State will receive a $750 tax relief, while joint filers will receive a $1,500 tax credit.
  • Delaware: The state of Delaware will provide $300 to individuals who filed a 2020 state tax return.
  • Florida: Households that meet specific conditions in Florida will receive a $450 payout per child.
  • Georgia: The state will be offering up to $250 to single taxpayers, $375 to head-of-household filers, and a total of $500 to married couples who file jointly.
  • Hawaii: Distribution details are not yet available, but Hawaii taxpayers who earn more than $100,000 will receive a $100 rebate, while those earning less will receive a $300 rebate.
  • Idaho: Taxpayers who filed their tax returns in 2020 and 2021 and those who received grocery-credit refunds will get either $75 or 12% of their state taxes for 2020, whichever is greater.
  • Illinois: Residents who earn under $200,000 per year ($400,000 for couples filing jointly) will receive a $50 rebate, with an additional $100 per dependent.
  • Indiana: The residents who filed a state tax return in 2020 or 2021 will receive a $125 reimbursement.
  • Maine: Residents who have a federal adjusted gross income of below $100,000 ($150,000 for head-of-household filers and $200,000 for married couples who decide to file jointly) will get an $850 check (couples will receive $1,750).
  • Massachusetts: The Bay State is currently planning on issuing $250 rebates to all eligible taxpayers. 
  • Minnesota: The state is giving $750 to frontline workers who worked a minimum of 120 hours between March 2020 and June 2021 and were not able to work remotely. Payment applications are now closed.
  • New Jersey: New Jersey is providing $500 to a number of families.
  • New Mexico: New Mexico residents making less than $75,000 per year will receive a $250 rebate ($500 for joint filers). 
  • Oregon: Residents who qualified for the earned income tax credit in 2020 will receive a $600 payment.
  • South Carolina: There are no specifics yet, but residents of the Palmetto State could get a payout of up to $800.
  • Virginia: Eligible taxpayers will receive a $250 payment ($500 for married couples filing jointly).

Are more states likely to follow?

Yes, given that the federal government does not intend to issue a stimulus check, other states are likely to pass on stimulus funds to their residents soon. North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Kentucky have potential bills awaiting approval at the state house.